San Jose Sports Teams

Sports Teams of San Jose

San Jose is home to the San Jose Sharks of the NHL, the San Jose Barracuda of the AHL, and the San Jose Earthquakes of Major League Soccer. The Sharks and the Barracuda play in the SAP Center at San Jose. The Earthquakes built an 18,000-seat new stadium that opened in March 2015. San Jose was a founding member of both the California League and Pacific Coast League in minor league baseball. San Jose currently fields the San Jose Giants, a High-A affiliate of the San Francisco Giants. The NFL’s San Francisco 49ers call neighboring Santa Clara, California home.

San Jose has “aggressively wooed” the Oakland Athletics to relocate to San Jose from nearby Oakland, and the Athletics in turn have said that San Jose is their “best option”, but the San Francisco Giants have thus far exercised a veto against this proposal. In 2013, the city of San Jose sued Major League Baseball for not allowing the Athletics to relocate to San Jose. On October 5, 2015 the United States Supreme Court rejected San Jose’s bid on the Athletics.

From 2005 to 2007, the San Jose Grand Prix, an annual street circuit race in the Champ Car World Series, was held in the downtown area. Other races included the Trans-Am Series, the Toyota Atlantic Championship, the United States Touring Car Championship, the Historic Stock Car Racing Series, and the Formula D Drift racing competition.

In 2004, the San Jose Sports Authority hosted the U.S. Olympic team trials for judo, taekwondo, trampolining and rhythmic gymnastics at the San Jose State Event Center. In 2008, around 90 percent of the members of the United States Olympic team were processed at San Jose State University prior to traveling to the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing. The 2009 Junior Olympics for trampoline were also held here.

In August 2004, the San Jose Seahawk Rugby Football Club hosted the USA All-Star Rugby Sevens Championships at Watson Bowl, east of Downtown. San Jose State hosted the 2011 American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA) national tournament. The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is also frequently held in San Jose.

There is more to sports when you take a look at the bay area as a whole however.

The Bay Area is home to two National Football League teams, the San Francisco 49ers and Oakland Raiders, who play at Levi’s Stadium and Oakland Alameda Coliseum.

The 49ers have won five Super Bowls (XVI, XIX, XXIII, XXIV, XXIX) and lost one (XLVII). The Raiders have won three Super Bowls (XI, XV, XVIII), and lost two (II, XXXVII).

The Bay Area is home to two Major League Baseball teams. The San Francisco Giants play at AT&T Park and have won eight World Series titles (three as the San Francisco Giants (2010, 2012, and 2014) and five as the New York Giants). The Oakland Athletics share the Oakland Coliseum with the Raiders, and the A’s have won nine World Series titles (four as the Oakland Athletics, (1972, 1973, 1974, and 1989) and five as the Philadelphia Athletics).

The 1989 World Series was known as the “Earthquake Series”, “Bay Bridge Series”, and “Battle of the Bay”, as both teams played against each other, and Oakland swept the Giants in a 4-game series. However, the series is probably best known for the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake which struck on the day of Game 3.

San Francisco was ranked #1 in 2012 among America’s Best Baseball cities. The study examined which U.S. metro areas have produced the most Major Leaguers since 1920.

Oakland is home of the Golden State Warriors in the NBA, who currently play at the Oracle Arena. The Warriors originally played in Philadelphia, but relocated to San Francisco in 1962 and then to Oakland in 1971. The Warriors are slated to return to San Francisco for the 2019–20 NBA season when the new Chase Center opens in the Mission Bay district. The Warriors have won four NBA Finals since their relocation (1975, 2015, 2017, 2018).

San Jose currently hosts the San Jose Sharks of the National Hockey League and currently play at the SAP Center at San Jose. The Sharks began to play in 1991, playing their first two seasons at the Cow Palace before moving to their current home in 1993. They have been Pacific Division champions six times, as well as having won the Presidents’ Trophy for the best regular season record in the league in 2009, and the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl as the Western Conference champions in 2016. Though the Sharks have yet to win a Stanley Cup, they made their first Stanley Cup Finals appearance in 2016.

Beginning in 1996, the San Jose Earthquakes, then known as the San Jose Clash, competed in Major League Soccer, and became the Earthquakes in 1999. The Quakes won MLS Cup 2001 against the Los Angeles Galaxy 2–1, as well as MLS Cup 2003 against the Chicago Fire 4–2. The Quakes then moved to Houston in 2005, and became the Houston Dynamo, but in a fashion similar to the Cleveland Browns move, the Earthquakes name and history stayed in San Jose for a future team. In 2008, the current incarnation of the Earthquakes made its return and subsequently played seven seasons at Buck Shaw Stadium in Santa Clara. In March 2015, the Earthquakes opened Avaya Stadium across from San Jose International Airport.

Weather Averages in San Jose